Woolf Public Seminars

Woolf Public Seminars

General Info

💡 Woolf’s Public Seminars are open to all interested parties. During the Public Seminars, speakers will present work-in-progress papers. Following the paper reading, the convenor will conduct a Q&A session.

Woolf students are invited to ask questions first, followed by Woolf Faculty, then public attendees. If you are interested in becoming a speaker, contact the Public Seminar convenor.

image
Date
Seminar Title
Speaker
AUG 24 2022
Robert Stern
SEP 28 2022
J. Aaron Simmons
OCT 26 2022
Matthew Clemente
DEC 01 2022
Lee Braver
JAN 9 2023
A. W. Moore
JAN 25 2023
Emmanuel Falque
FEB 22 2023
Simon Glendinning
MAR 29 2023
Katerina Koci
APR 26 2023
Bettina Bergo
MAY 31 2023
Christos Hadjioannou
JUN 28 2023
Anthony Rudd
JUL 26 2023
Steven Nemes
AUG 29 2023
Simon Podmore
AUG 30 2023
SEP 27 2023
Stephen E. Lewis
👉
Sign up herehttps://lu.ma/Woolf Seminar meets monthly: Wednesdays, 8.00 PST / 11.00 EST / 17.00 CET Convenor: Steven DeLay (steven.delay@woolf.university)

image
Date
Seminar Title
Speaker
JAN 26 2023
The role of conditionality in the relationship between the EU and the “Visegrád Four” countries
Rafal Fabianowicz
MAR 30 2023
Robotic Persons: When Should We Give AI Human Rights?
Stephen Milford
APR 27 2023
Sustainable Development and the Pharmaceutical Industry  - How to Tackle the Antibiotics Crisis
Christopher Brenig
MAY 25 2023
TBD
TBD
June 29 2023
TBD
Adam Xavier Gabriel Hearn
👉
Sign up herehttps://lu.ma/Woolf Seminar meets monthly: last Thursday, 04.00 PST / 06.00 EST / 12.00 CET Convenor: Stephen Milford (stephen.milford@unibas.ch)

image

💡 Digital Learning at Scale is a Hesse College public seminar series that presents contemporary research on the theories, methods, and technologies underpinning digital learning. Global in scope, and evidence-based in practice, DLS envisions a wide variety of possible topics and approaches, including but not limited to: • Machine learning / AI in nontechnical classrooms (writing assistants, etc.); • Technical papers on machine learning in educational contexts; • Virtual reality in online courses; • Best practices in online teaching and learning;

• Edtech in various disciplines (especially interested in undergraduate/graduate courses in business, computer science, and data science); • Data-based analyses of online courses. Hesse College public seminars take place on Zoom, and are open to the public. The usual format is a presentation of 30ish minutes, followed by discussion. Presenters may be faculty, staff, or graduate students at an accredited institution anywhere in the world, although priority will be given to those with a connection to Switzerland.

👉
Sign up herehttps://lu.ma/Woolf Seminar meets monthly: Coming soon Convenor: Jason Jones (jason@woolf.university)